Gotthebo


Author Topic: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake  (Read 5312 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chillisteak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • I want to go fast!
    • Fanatec CSR
    • View Profile
Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« on: September 24, 2012, 11:04:17 PM »

I'm dying for a handbrake for WRC but don't want to mod the wheel/shifters etc and this seems like Fanatec producing one is my only option.
But I haven't seen no news on it in some time now.

Anyone know if this project is still alive?
Processor: AMD Bulldozer FX-6  6100 (Overclocked to 4ghz) | Videocard: ATi Radeon HD 7950  | Gamepad: Fanatec CSR + CSR Elite Pedals |
 Network Card: Asus PCE-N15 Mainboard: Asus Sabert

Offline nuttyjimbob

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
    • Fanatec CSR
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2012, 11:59:00 PM »
I don't understand why it's taken so long!
If it has a wheel im on it ;)

Offline chillisteak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • I want to go fast!
    • Fanatec CSR
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2012, 04:31:47 PM »
I don't understand why it's taken so long!

Me either it's driving me nuts!

I think it has something to do with that guy wo made his own clubsport e-brake, as I'm sure Thomas mentioned something somewhere about hiring him lol

But they won't evem ackowledge that the project is ongoing or dead which is the most frustration thing about it!
Processor: AMD Bulldozer FX-6  6100 (Overclocked to 4ghz) | Videocard: ATi Radeon HD 7950  | Gamepad: Fanatec CSR + CSR Elite Pedals |
 Network Card: Asus PCE-N15 Mainboard: Asus Sabert

Offline GeForce Junky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • Fanatec CSR Elite
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2012, 09:39:10 PM »
At the moment you can make your own if you have clubsport pedals but it seams the pc drivers do not support the handbrake input which sucks. The port works fine with the xbox though.

Offline Flying_kefran

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • Fanatec 911 GT2
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #4 on: October 01, 2012, 12:32:32 AM »
Handbrake is part of the Fanatec growing list of vaporwares:
- Clubsport shifters (first mentionned by Thomas something like 3 years ago !)
- Handbrake
- next one might be CSR-Elite rims. Early July, Thomas proudly announced the Formula rim to be available in Q3 (remenber the Vettel photos) and never answered any question on the topic since this announcement. Q3 ended yesterday without a word from Fanatec.

Offline chillisteak

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 97
  • I want to go fast!
    • Fanatec CSR
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2012, 10:23:53 PM »
Handbrake is part of the Fanatec growing list of vaporwares:
- Clubsport shifters (first mentionned by Thomas something like 3 years ago !)
- Handbrake
- next one might be CSR-Elite rims. Early July, Thomas proudly announced the Formula rim to be available in Q3 (remenber the Vettel photos) and never answered any question on the topic since this announcement. Q3 ended yesterday without a word from Fanatec.

I seriously hope that's not the case!

But the Rims are not far off surely? I remember reading that the only one they are producing for it mind is the Formula rim with no plans for additional rims.
Processor: AMD Bulldozer FX-6  6100 (Overclocked to 4ghz) | Videocard: ATi Radeon HD 7950  | Gamepad: Fanatec CSR + CSR Elite Pedals |
 Network Card: Asus PCE-N15 Mainboard: Asus Sabert

Offline djwink1der

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #6 on: February 01, 2013, 02:38:51 AM »
I'm in the process of developing a handbrake. It will be a USB plug-n-play for stand-alone connectivity for PC racers as well as a harness to connect to the e-brake port of the fanatec pedals. I have most of the electronics and will be ordering the e-brake in a few days.

Offline greenmick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • Fanatec 911 Turbo S
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #7 on: February 01, 2013, 03:10:22 AM »
I nearly bought one of those today . I will be watching how you go .
good luck

Offline mrbasher

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
    • Fanatec 911 Turbo S
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #8 on: February 01, 2013, 05:56:48 AM »
I make a cable for my SFA1 adapter to allow it to be used with the CSP boards. I just plugs right into the board. This lets you use the handbrake mode on the TH8RS.

Anyhow, cool looking project. :D

Offline djwink1der

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #9 on: February 07, 2013, 02:25:13 AM »
Quick question. I'm planning on making this analog of course but would anyone want this to act just as a button as well? (i.e. shift button or switch)

Offline magicaldog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • Fanatec 911 GT3 RS V2
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2013, 07:46:46 PM »
Quick question. I'm planning on making this analog of course but would anyone want this to act just as a button as well? (i.e. shift button or switch)

No real sim racer wants a non analog handbrake  ;D

Offline magicaldog

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 27
    • Fanatec 911 GT3 RS V2
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2013, 12:43:33 PM »
I'm in the process of developing a handbrake. It will be a USB plug-n-play for stand-alone connectivity for PC racers as well as a harness to connect to the e-brake port of the fanatec pedals. I have most of the electronics and will be ordering the e-brake in a few days.

So how is it going with the development !

The handbrake image looks better than the one Fanatec has been showing !

Offline Zonic2001

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • Fanatec CSR
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2014, 07:17:08 PM »
I'm in the process of developing a handbrake. It will be a USB plug-n-play for stand-alone connectivity for PC racers as well as a harness to connect to the e-brake port of the fanatec pedals. I have most of the electronics and will be ordering the e-brake in a few days.

Nevermind!  Found them in ebay
« Last Edit: March 17, 2014, 09:05:35 PM by Zonic2001 »

Offline Zebrawire

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1790
    • Fanatec CSR Elite
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2014, 12:14:03 AM »
I make a cable for my SFA1 adapter to allow it to be used with the CSP boards. I just plugs right into the board. This lets you use the handbrake mode on the TH8RS.

Anyhow, cool looking project. :D
Good 'ol Jon, keeping it real....and simple.
Still lov'n my FL2...never lost calibration even once in over a year,  (Logitec G27 shifter to Fanatec Elite) and I have really kinda expected it to, with unplugging between PC sims and Console play....never once. THE BEST! ;D
« Last Edit: March 13, 2014, 12:22:29 AM by Zebrawire »
The palest ink is better than the best memory.

Offline Zonic2001

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • Fanatec CSR
    • View Profile
Re: Fanatec E-brake/handbrake
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2014, 02:06:22 PM »
Quick question. I'm planning on making this analog of course but would anyone want this to act just as a button as well? (i.e. shift button or switch)

i want to buy the cable!!!  But you have not replied my e-mails nor PMs.  Please, need to get a hold of one of these cables.